White House broadband report highlights PPI research

I’m glad to see that the Progressive Policy Institute’s extensive research and policy program on the data-driven economy is getting some attention in the White House.

On June 14th the White House released a report entitled Four Years of Broadband Growth.  The WH report prominently highlighted PPI’s July 2012 policy brief on Investment Heroes:Who’s Betting on America’s Future, noting that

just two of the largest U.S. telecommunications companies account for greater combined
stateside investment than the top five oil/gas companies, and nearly four times more than the big three auto companies combined.

In addition, the WH report prominently featured our research on the number of jobs created by the App Economy. The White House noted that:

These devices have done more than connect Americans to one another more easily. The integration of mobile broadband, advanced operating systems and increasingly sophisticated hardware, along with low barriers to entry to an open network, have enabled an entire economy of mobile applications to develop in the United States. This “App Economy” is one of America’s most dynamic and growing sectors, and one that industry studies have cited as creating more than 500,000 U.S. jobs since 2007.

Truthfully, the White House could have cited other PPI research as well. Here’s a list of recent work that we’ve done on the data-driven economy within the last year:

The Rebalancing Of The California Economy: How Internet/Tech Jobs Are Spreading Across The State

Data, Trade, and Growth (working paper)

Beyond Goods and Services: The (Unmeasured) Rise of the Data-Driven Economy

Investment Heroes:Who’s Betting on America’s Future

The Geography of the App Economy

We have a lot more in the pipeline!

Comments

  1. I’ve been surfing on-line more than three hours lately, yet I never found any fascinating article like yours. It’s lovely worth sufficient for me.
    Personally, if all site owners and bloggers made just right content material as you
    did, the net might be much more helpful than ever before.

  2. I’m curious to find out what blog system you happen to be working with?

    I’m experiencing some small security issues with my latest website and I would like to
    find something more risk-free. Do you have any solutions?

  3. Excellent write-up. I absolutely love this site.
    Thanks!

  4. Thanks , I’ve recently been searching for info approximately this subject for ages and yours is the greatest
    I’ve discovered so far. But, what in regards to the bottom line?
    Are you certain about the source?

  5. Thanks for the marvelous posting! I quite enjoyed reading it,
    you happen to be a great author. I will remember to
    bookmark your boog and definitely will come back from now on.
    I want to encourage you to ultimately continue your great
    job, have a nice evening!

  6. Wonderful blog! I found it while searching on Yahoo News. Do you have any suggestions on
    how to get listed in Yahoo News? I’ve been trying for a
    while but I never seem to get there! Thanks

  7. Good post. I learn something totally new and challenging on sites I stumbleupon every day.
    It’s always helpful to read articles from other writers and practice something from other web sites.

  8. Hi there, I read your blog like every week. Your humoristic style is awesome, keep doing what you’re doing!

  9. I simply couldn’t leave your site prior to suggesting that I extremely loved the
    standard info a person supply on your guests? Is gonna be back frequently
    in order to investigate cross-check new posts

  10. I’ve been browsing online more than 3 hours today,
    yet I never found any interesting article like yours. It’s
    pretty worth enough for me. In my view, if all web owners and bloggers made good content as you
    did, the net will be a lot more useful than ever before.

  11. Howdy very cool blog!! Man .. Beautiful .. Amazing ..
    I’ll bookmark your blog and take the feeds also?
    I am happy to search out so many useful information right here in the post, we need work out more strategies on this regard, thanks for sharing.
    . . . . .

  12. Good day! Do you know if they make any plugins to protect against hackers?
    I’m kinda paranoid about losing everything I’ve worked hard on.
    Any tips?

  13. You’ve made some really good points there.
    I checked on the web to learn more about the issue and found most people will go along with your
    views on this website.

  14. Hi to every one, it’s in fact a nice for me to pay a
    quick visit this site, it contains precious Information.

  15. Remarkable issues here. I’m very glad to look your post.
    Thanks so much and I’m taking a look forward to touch you. Will you
    please drop me a mail?

  16. What’s up, I check your blogs regularly. Your writing style is awesome, keep up the
    good work!

Leave a Reply

Archives

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 65 other followers

